Community Site
HomeNews and NotificationsPrevious AwardsGalleryInfo2019 SA Blog Awards Results

2014 SA Blog Awards Judges

  Our judging panel members are experts in Digital and Traditional Media and includes a variety of well versed high profile personalities.

We are extremely grateful to them for offering the time to adjudicate.


Andrew Barnes


Andrew Barnes is a senior anchor at eNCA. 
He's been in the business for 20 years having been a report and News Editor in
both radio & television. 



Breyton Paulse


Former Springbok Rugby player and Sports Commentator
54 Caps for Springboks,
Presenter on KykNet, Super Rugby.



Chester Williams


1995 Rugby World Cup winner, Sports Personailty, 27 Sprinbok Caps.
Former SA Sevens Coach, Pumas Coach and Cats Coach.



Ryan O Connor


Ryan O connor is the breakfast show host on KFM and has been invloved in media for the past fifteen
years during which time he has broadcast on Good Hope FM and other top radio stations. Ryan is one
of South Africa's most sought after masters of ceremonies.


  Laurie Fialkov

CEO Cybersmart.

 Dan Guasco

 Serial entrepreneur and investor. Innovation. Leadership. Technology. Africa.
Passionate about all things digital.



Gasant Abarder


Editor Cape Times
Former Head of EyeWitnessNews



Johan Van Tonder


CEO of Former Naspers Internet Strategist



Prakash Patel

A Tra-digitalist & creative thinker who believes all things are poss. 20+yrs exp.
Chief Digital Officer FoggCT Past CEO Prezence/CDO DraftFCB 



Rod Baker


Rod  Baker is Content Director at, is a former magazine editor (Bona)
and publisher, and is a published author of a number of successful books, and former editor
of a number of equally successful books.



Sarah Mundy


Former head of SARU Marketing
Owner: Style me Fabulous



Saul Kropman


GS Industries: Saul has been in the digital industry for several years, accumulating diverse experience
across digital agencies, publishing and startups. His current focus is on the consultancy he runs, 
which provides support structures for the industry, alongside a training and recruitment agency to
help grow talent.



Justin Nurse


Media guru and satirist. Founder and CEO of Laugh it Off



Pieter Cronje


Pieter consults, lectures and writes on communication, marketing and branding.
He worked on three Soccer World Cups (SA, Brazil, Russia) and SA's first democratic
election in 1994.



Gary Novitskas


CEO Juniva.


Chris Vick


Chris Vick is a director of Black, which was established in 2007 as a niche communications consultancy
specializing in reputation management, providing a set of strategic communications service to public and
private sector institutions as well as to political and business leaders.




Chris Verrijdt


Chris Verrijdt has worked in Marketing and PR for over 15 years both here and abroad. He ran his own PR
agency until the end of 2014, when he merged with Havas Worldwide South Africa to become Havas PR 
South Africa. He has projected managed various competitions for a  number of clients, including more recently
the SAB Environmental & Sports Media Awards where he introduced Online Media as part of the competition.